Enter your keyword


Six new members join the National Criminal Justice Arts Alliance steering group

Six new members join the National Criminal Justice Arts Alliance steering group

We are very pleased to announce the appointment of the following new members to the NCJAA steering group:

Brenda Birungi, poet and founder of Unchained Poetry; Jamal Khan, writer and poet; Jennifer Walmsley, co-founder of BearFace Theatre; Ralph Lubkowski, Governor, HMP Hewell; Sarah Hartley, National Lead for Families, Novus; and Simon Ruding, Director, TiPP.

We are delighted to welcome six individuals with such a breadth of experience and expertise. Our new members will join our current steering group, which includes:

Alison Frater, Chair, Independent; Abdul Shayek, Fio; Anna Herrmann, Clean Break; Esther Baker, Synergy Theatre Project; Niki Gibbs, Independent; Rebecca Friel, Odd Arts; Russ Haynes, Independent, Good Vibrations associate; and Sarah Colvin, University of Cambridge.

We are extremely indebted of the support of the outgoing members: Andy Watson, Geese Theatre; Francesca Cooney, Prisoners’ Education Trust; Katy Haigh, Good Vibrations; Michelle Bynoe, Independent; Sally Taylor, Koestler Arts; and Sara Lee, Irene Taylor Trust. This history and experience has enabled the NCJAA to become what it is today. We very much hope they stay involved with the network as their expertise is invaluable.

This year, we actively sought applications to the steering group from people with a range of backgrounds, to ensure a variety of regions, settings and art forms are represented. We particularly welcomed applications from black, Asian and minority ethnic people. We will also seek to co-opt additional members to ensure we have broader representation across our network.

19 candidates stood in this year’s elections. Voting was open to the NCJAA network for two weeks, closing at midday on Friday, 12th June 2020, with one vote available to each network organisation. Where more than one person voted from any organisation, we counted the first vote submitted only.

Please join us at our annual meeting at 3-5pm on Tuesday, 23rd June, where we will introduce the new steering group members to the network.